40 Days: Body and Mind – Day 9

Posted: August 5, 2012 in Introduction, Life, Projects, Thought Provoking, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I woke up this morning and was actually awake at a decent enough hour to make some breakfast and do morning things. It was kind of shocking that I actually made it out of bed before noon. I tried to make Eggo’s, but I failed at that. I didn’t toast them long enough so they were cold in the middle and not very appealing at that point, so I decided to skip breakfast and just drink my orange juice.

Now I had planned on going to the art museums in town today, but I stopped myself from doing so for one particular reason. I had no one to go with. I didn’t know that I needed someone to go with me until I tried to go and was thinking about it all. I like art, not as much as critiques do, but I think I’m better than the general masses (masses, you know who you are) about these kinds of things. I didn’t have anyone to talk to about it all or who would appreciate it as much as I would. None of my friends here care about art, or anything like that. Hell, my friends recently got into basketball of all things, and are now following football. Anyone reading this may think that is a normal thing, but we are generally the people talking about computers, videogames, comics, movies, and getting mad at politics. It didn’t help that this was a fairly abrupt shift in taste for some of them. It threw me off guard for the most part and made me feel left out.

So I didn’t go to the museums today, and after this I don’t know if I will make it to the museums while I’m here. I guess I’m just annoyed that I’ve grown up, but my friends here haven’t (the sports thing isn’t growing up). I just really need to get leave the country and then after that get back to San Antonio. When I’m out of the country I’ll have more things to take up my time and make me happier, and once I get back to San Antonio I’ll be around people who have some similar tastes as I do. The only down side to this is that the people in San Antonio are all of my architecture friends, who are generally pretentious and only talk about architecture for the most part, or they are the friends I made in group therapy, who only see me for my major and not who I am on the inside or anything. I think I’ll bring this up with my shrink when I see him at the end of August, hell, I’ll probably email him the link to my blog and let him read it.

I didn’t work out, but I did manage to play a round of Munchkin with my parents, which was interesting. My mother screwed me over early on in the game, and she ended up winning. So that was basically the rest of my night. Oh, I did figure out what my next calling card will be; chess pieces, specifically, the white knight. Got to start somewhere.

Whatever the risk, still onward.

-The Architect

Leave a Reply

